Reading Schedule

Tuesday, August 29

  • “A Primer for the Punctuation of Heart Disease” by Jonathan Safran Foer (handout in class)

Thursday, August 31

  • “Adams” and “Jon” by George Saunders (WebCT)

Tuesday, September 5

  • House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski, Foreword, Introduction, and pp. 1-79
  • “The Uncanny” by Sigmund Freud (e-reserve)

Thursday, September 7

  • House of Leaves, pp. 584-644, 80-106

Tuesday, September 12

  • House of Leaves, pp. 107-274
  • Investigation #1 assigned

Thursday, September 14

  • House of Leaves, pp. 275-346

Tuesday, September 19

  • House of Leaves, pp. 347-490

Thursday, September 21

  • House of Leaves, pp. 491-535, plus miscellaneous Appendices
  • Investigation #1

Tuesday, September 26

  • “Adina, Astrid, Chipewee, Jasmine” by Matthew Klam (e-reserve)
  • “Twilight of the Superheroes” by Deborah Eisenberg (e-reserve)
  • Fall for the Book begins tomorrow; A review of one event is due on the blog by October 7 for Investigation #3

Thursday, September 28

  • The Man in My Basement by Walter Mosley, pp. 1-97

Tuesday, October 3

  • The Man in My Basement, pp. 99-160

Thursday, October 5

  • The Man in My Basement, pp. 161-249
  • Investigation #2

Tuesday, October 10

  • No Class: Monday/Tuesday Switch Day

Thursday, October 12

  • Postmodernism, Style and Thought
  • Midterm Essay Due

Tuesday, October 17

  • Dream Jungle by Jessica Hagedorn, pp. 1-87

Thursday, October 19

  • Dream Jungle, pp. 88-125

Tuesday, October 24

  • Dream Jungle, pp. 125-185
  • Screening: Apocalypse Now (JC Reserve)

Thursday, October 26

  • Dream Jungle, pp. 186-246
  • Screening: Hearts of Darkness (JC Reserve)

Tuesday, October 31

  • Dream Jungle, pp. 247-325
  • Investigation #4

Thursday, November 2

  • “The Specialist’s Hat” and “Travels with the Snow Queen” by Kelly Link (from Stranger Things Happen)

Tuesday, November 7

  • The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat, pp. 1-86

Thursday, November 9

  • The Dew Breaker, pp. 87-164

Tuesday, November 14

  • The Dew Breaker, pp. 165-242

Thursday, November 16

Tuesday, November 21

  • Investigation #5

Thursday, November 23

  • No Class: Thanksgiving

Tuesday, November 28

  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, pp. 1-173

Thursday, November 30

  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, pp. 174-233

Tuesday, December 5

  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, pp. 234-326

Thursday, December 7

  • Considering the Future of the Novel…

Tuesday, December 12

  • FINAL PAPER DUE