Course Calendar

WEEK 1 // WHAT IS TEXTUAL MEDIA?

Tuesday, August 26
Thursday, August 28
  • N. Katherine Hayles, Electronic Literature, pp. 1-30
  • * Blog Response Due (in which you focus on either Jabber, Firefly, or Orson Whales and think through the dynamic between representational meaning and evocative meaning in the work)

WEEK 2 // NARRATIVE AND PLAYFULNESS

Tuesday, September 2
  • Marie-Laure Ryan, Narrative as Virtual Reality, pp. 204-224 (Blackboard)
  • Stuart Moulthrop, Hegirascope
Thursday, September 4

WEEK 3 // NARRATIVE AND PLAY

Tuesday, September 9
Thursday, September 11

WEEK 4 // INTERACTIVE FICTION

Tuesday, September 16
Thursday, September 18

WEEK 5 // THE BOUNDARIES OF INTERACTIVE FICTION

Tuesday, September 23
Thursday, September 25
  • Electronic Literature, pp. 43-59
  • Michael Joyce, Afternoon: A Story

WEEK 6 // READING AFTERNOON

Tuesday, September 30
  • Afternoon, continued
  • Blog Response Due
Thursday, October 2
  • Electronic Literature, pp. 59-70
  • Michael Joyce, Twelve Blue

WEEK 7 // VISUAL MEDIA

Tuesday, October 7
  • Scott McCloud, Understanding Comics, pages 1-137
  • Blog Checkpoint (5 posts total)
Thursday, October 9

WEEK 8 // MEDIA THEORY

Tuesday, October 14
  • No Class
Thursday, October 16

WEEK 9 // BODIES AND MACHINES

Tuesday, October 21
Thursday, October 23

WEEK 10 // READING TEXT AS CODE

Tuesday, October 28
Thursday, October 30

WEEK 11 // DIGITAL AND GENERATIVE POETRY

Tuesday, November 4
Thursday, November 6

WEEK 12 // DATABASE MEDIA

Tuesday, November 11
Thursday, November 13

WEEK 13 // MOBILE LITERATURE AND EPHEMERAL TEXTS

Tuesday, November 18
Thursday, November 20

WEEK 14 // THANKSGIVING

Tuesday, November 25
  • BRB LOL IRL
  • Blog Checkpoint (10 posts total)
Thursday, November 27
  • Thanksgiving

WEEK 15 // THE LEVIATHAN RETURNS

Tuesday, December 2
  • Textual Media Experiment Due
Thursday, December 4
  • Textual Media Experiment Presentations

WEEK 16 // FINAL PAPER

  • FINAL PAPER DUE ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 11